Celebrating legal excellence in Worcestershire

Worcestershire’s leading lawyers, top law firms and rising stars have now been shortlisted for Worcestershire Law Society’s (WLS) annual awards, to be presented at a prestigious dinner to be held at Stanbrook Abbey on the evening of 7 April 2017.

Awards are made for Solicitor of the Year, Junior Solicitor of the Year (up to 5 years qualified), Employment Law Department of the Year and Trainee Solicitor of the Year, as well as for administrative and support staff in a variety of roles within the legal profession. Staff from Thursfields, Harrison Clark Rickerbys, Hallmark Hulme and MFG Solicitors are nominated for individual awards, with the latter three firms battling it out for the professional discipline (employment) award. The shortlisted candidates will be interviewed in March by a panel of judges.

Guest speaker for the awards dinner is Lord Digby Jones, local entrepreneur and ex-solicitor. He will be joined by Hursty (of ‘Hursty and Helen in the morning’) from Free Radio’s morning show as this year’s Master of Ceremonies. The 160 guests will enjoy a drinks reception, followed by dinner and the awards ceremony with extravagant raffle prizes donated by the local business community.

Priya Tromans, President of the Worcestershire Law Society, said: ‘We have a wealth of legal talent in the county and we celebrate that every year with these awards. This year’s event promises to be very entertaining too – Lord Jones has some great stories to tell and it is always good to have a chance to meet up with colleagues from across the county.

‘We are especially grateful to our sponsors, including St Philips Chambers, Index Property Information, Brightwells Auctioneers and Anja Potze.’

Shortlisted nominees:

Solicitor of the Year:
Clare Emery of Harrison Clark Rickerbys
Helen Gough of MFG
Claire Thompson of Harrison Clark Rickerbys

Junior Solicitor of the Year:
Nathan Guest of Harrison Clark Rickerbys
Hailey Nip of Harrison Clark Rickerbys

Trainee Solicitor of the Year:
Sarah-Jayne Martin of Harrison Clark Rickerbys
Jack Morley of MFG
Kirsty Underhill of Thursfields

Support Staff – Administration:
Nysha Dowling of Hallmark Hulme
Jodie Hawker of Harrison Clark Rickerbys
Lian Styring of MFG

Support Staff – Paralegal:
Emma Kirkpatrick of Harrison Clark Rickerbys
Patricia Marleau of Harrison Clark Rickerbys
Nicola Pearce of Thursfields

Support Staff – Office Management:
Mandy Jones of Harrison Clark Rickerbys
Aimee Williams of Thursfields

Professional discipline (Employment):
Claire Cole of Hallmark Hulme
Sally Morris of MFG
Claire Thompson of Harrison Clark Rickerbys

Image: Two of the finalists for Solicitor of the Year: Clare Emery (left) and Claire Thompson, both of Harrison Clark Rickerbys.

For further information please contact:   Rachel Evans – 07970 101451 – rachel@bromyard.com